Diana Woelffer, Cora Kelley Ward, 1949

January 24 – April 25, 2020 {120 College Street}

Curated by Kate Averett and Alice Sebrell

This exhibition will celebrate the work and impact of the women associated with Black Mountain College, featuring borrowed works alongside pieces from the BMCM+AC collection by a wide-ranging group of artists including Anni Albers, Suzi Gablik, Ruth Asawa, Jo Sandman, M.C. Richards, and Hazel Larsen Archer. BMC was a place where women could explore their identities as artists and individuals; a space where women were expected to question things, to think critically and to explore their own self determinacy. Through artworks, personal accounts and archival film and photographs, Question Everything! details how this new generation went forward with a strong sense of what it meant to be a woman in the 20th century, forging new paths for themselves and those who followed in their footsteps.

This exhibition is supported by The Beattie Foundation, John Byrd + Ellen Clark, Marion L. Johnson Church, Thomas Frank, and the Windgate Charitable Foundation.

Special thanks to: The Britton family, Connie Bostic, Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art, Sarah Downing, Johanna Engebrecht, Katherine French, Suzi Gablik, Lorrie Goulet, Rob Hazelgrove + Dan McLawhorn, Hudson + Terry Lanier, Rebecca Lowell, Michael Manes, The Milton Resnick and Pat Passlof Foundation, Donna Marie Perkins, Reynolda House Museum of American Art, Jo Sandman, Susan Rhew Design, Heather South, Western Regional Archives, and Erika Zarow.

Related Programs:

Friday, January 24, 5:30 to 8pm – Opening Reception

Saturday, January 25, 11am to 5pm + Sunday January 26, 1pm to 5pm – Fringe Festival: New Day by Robert Ladislas Derr

Thursday, February 6, 7pm – FILMS@BMCM+AC Don’t Know, We’ll See: The Work of Karen Karnes

Wednesday, February 12, 12 to 1pm – PERSPECTIVES Lunchtime Workshop @BMCM+AC

Thursday, February 13, 7pm – Bana Haffar and Third Coast Percussion

Thursday, February 27, 7pm – DamselFly Trio

Saturday, February 29, 10am to 1pm – Bits and Pieces: Collage Workshop with Connie Bostic

Thursday, March 12, 7pm – When the College was Female a presentation by David Silver

Saturday, March 21, 7pm – Poetry Reading: The Pioneering Women of Black Mountain College: Looking Back + Looking Forward

Thursday, March 26, 7pm – Culture Club, in collaboration with BMCM+AC, presents “Forming Identity & Breaking Creative Boundaries.”

Saturday, April 11, 3 to 10pm – {Re}HAPPENING AT LAKE EDEN

Saturday, April 25, 4 to 5:30pm – Martha King in Conversation