JACK Quartet

November 12, 2021 at 8PM

BMCM+AC at 120 College Street

Downtown, Asheville NC

World premiere of John Luther Adams’ new composition Waves and Particles, performed by JACK Quartet. Presented on the opening night of the 12th annual ReVIEWING Black Mountain College Conference (November 12 – 14, 2021) and in conjunction with the exhibition Don’t Blame it on ZEN: The Way of John Cage & Friends (September 3, 2021 – January 8, 2022).

General admission is $15, with admission free to ticket-holding ReVIEWING conference attendees.

About John Luther Adams

For John Luther Adams, music is a lifelong search for home, an invitation to slow down, pay attention, and remember our place within the larger community of life on earth. Living for almost 40 years in northern Alaska, Adams discovered a unique musical world grounded in space, stillness, and elemental forces. In the 1970s and into the 80s, he worked full-time as an environmental activist. But the time came when he felt compelled to dedicate himself entirely to music. He made this choice with the belief that, ultimately, music can do more than politics could to change the world. A deep concern for the state of the earth and the future of humanity drives Adams to compose.

About JACK Quartet

Hailed by The New York Times as the nation’s most important quartet, the JACK Quartet is one of the most respected groups performing today. JACK is committed to performing and commissioning new works, giving voice to underheard composers, and cultivating an ever-greater sense of openness toward contemporary classical music. Over the past season, they have been selected as Musical Americas 2018 Ensemble of the Year and named to WQXRs 19 for 19 Artists to Watch. JACK is composed of violinists Christopher Otto, Austin Wulliman, and John Pickford Richards, and cellist Jay Campbell.